I’m back!!

Yeah, I know, I’ve been gone for a while. I’ve been working on the second book of my series, The Last Maul.  My first novel, Hidden Secrets, should hopefully be out next Spring, which is a great time! I don’t like winter. i hate the thought of driving in all that snow.

The things I’ve learned about writing a novel is you have to know how to write and know your grammar! My poor publisher now has writer’s cramp from fixing my boo-boos. So make sure  you know your P and Qs.

Write what you love and don’t worry if you don’t know much about the subject. You can always research it. And if you do write about what you don’t understand, make sure someone who understands your subject reads your works and listen, listen, listen.

Be professional when someone disagrees with you book, your blog post, etc. I had posted a reply on a blog and the writer basically scolded me for disagreeing with her. Bye-bye! I’ll be moving on. Welcome those who disagree with you. Be kind, be professional. You never know who is reading your book.

Remember, an opinion is just that, an opinion. I may not agree with something, but will my opinion change the world? Probably not. But if you want to post it, be sure to have research to back up your idea. Be open to those who might disagree and be kind to them. Remember, everyone has the right to an opinion.

Just because something is for writers, doesn’t mean it’s for you. As a Christian writer, I see all kinds of self righteous so called Christians who think they have the right to bash religions, people, pastors, **CoughJoelOlsteenCough* and I’ve learned that the blog that I thought would help my writing career was a waste of time. So I pray that God will lead my steps. The people that I didn’t think would help me are the ones who were my angels So check out everything before jumping on board.

Be yourself!! I’m an out of the closet Nerd and I started my own Nerd blog called Nerds Rule, Others Drool. I plan to put all my lovely nerdy stuff on it. Some so called Christians look at that in horror, but it’s who I am and what I am. I love it and plan to swim in it. I’ll let you know when it’s ready.

Study marketing techniques. Yeap, you have to market your book. So try to come up with ideas. I’ll go later into the marketing later.

Listen to critics, listen to those who have gone before you. Don’t think you know it all. Guess what? You don’t! There is always someone who knows more.

Well, that’s the end of this blog post. My writers’ group will be here soon and they are amazing writers!

God Bless, folks!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

